Please wait

BJP fields Abhijit Das Ganguly against TMC's Abhishek Banerjee in Diamond Harbour

  • BJP releases its 12th list of candidates, fields Abhijit Das Bobby for WB's Diamond Harbour seat
  • Abhijit Das Bobby, a previous contestant in 2009 and 2014, to face off against TMC's sitting MP Abhishek Banerjee
  • In the 2019 elections, Banerjee retained the seat with 7,91,127 votes, followed by the BJP and CPI(M)

16 Apr 2024

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) unveiled its 12th list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, set to commence this Friday. Among the seven candidates announced is Abhijit Das Bobby, nominated to contest from West Bengal's Diamond Harbour constituency.

Abhijit Das Bobby, a previous contender in the 2009 and 2014 general elections for the Diamond Harbour seat, is now slated to face off against the incumbent Trinamool Congress MP Abhishek Banerjee.

During the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Abhishek Banerjee clinched victory from the seat with 40.31% of the votes. In that same election, Abhijit Das secured third place with 15.92% of the votes, while CPI(M)'s Dr. Abul Hasnat came in second with 34.66%.

In the subsequent 2019 elections, Abhishek Banerjee continued his hold on the Diamond Harbour constituency, securing victory with 7,91,127 votes. The BJP's Nilanjan Roy followed in second place with 4,70,533 votes, trailed by the CPI(M)'s Fuad Halim with 93,941 votes.


No comments to show. Log in to add some!

Other Relevant Stories

Download The Taaza Tv App Now to Stay Updated on the Latest News!