Please wait

Smriti Irani trailing from Amethi

  • BJP's Smriti Irani, who defeated Rahul Gandhi in 2019, is currently behind
  • Congress candidate KL Sharma leads in Amethi by 39147 votes
  • The election saw a 54.40% voter turnout on May 20th

04 Jun 2024
Smriti Irani trailing from Amethi

Congress candidate KL Sharma is leading in Uttar Pradesh's Amethi Lok Sabha seat with a margin of 39,147 votes, leaving BJP candidate Smriti Irani trailing.

The fate of Amethi was sealed during the fifth phase of the elections on May 20th, which saw a 54.40% voter turnout. This election is especially significant given the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, when Smriti Irani defeated Congress leader Rahul Gandhi by 55,000 votes, delivering a major blow to Congress.

Rahul Gandhi's decision to contest from Raebareli instead of Amethi this year shifted the political dynamics. Smriti Irani, seizing the opportunity, declared that history had been made. However, Congress fielded Kishori Lal Sharma, a long-time loyalist of the Gandhi family, to challenge Irani.

Ad Image

No comments to show. Log in to add some!

Other Relevant Stories

Download The Taaza Tv App Now to Stay Updated on the Latest News!

play store download
app store download
app img