Please wait

Bihar assembly speaker Awadh Bihari Choudhary removed

  • Bihar Assembly Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary removed after no-confidence motion initiated by ruling NDA
  • Senior BJP leaders Tarkishor Prasad and Nand Kishor Yadav considered for the Speaker's post
  • Lalu Prasad Yadav's side suffered a blow as three of their MLAs dumped the party and switched over to Bihar CM Nitish Kumar-led NDA

12 Feb 2024

In a significant political development, Bihar Assembly Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has been ousted from his position following a no-confidence motion initiated by the ruling NDA. The motion was moved before the commencement of the budget session on Monday, marking a decisive shift in the state's political landscape. Chaudhary's removal sets the stage for a new Speaker to be appointed, with senior BJP leaders Tarkishor Prasad and former state unit chief Nand Kishor Yadav emerging as potential candidates for the coveted role.

The NDA's move to depose Chaudhary underscores the intensifying power dynamics within Bihar's political arena, particularly in the aftermath of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's recent departure from the Mahagathbandhan coalition to join the BJP-led NDA. As the assembly braces for a trust vote, Chaudhary's removal amplifies tensions within the NDA camp, which faces the challenge of securing a majority in the 243-member assembly. Despite Mahagathbandhan falling short of the required numbers, the political maneuvering surrounding the Speaker's ousting signifies a pivotal moment in Bihar's legislative landscape.


No comments to show. Log in to add some!

Other Relevant Stories

Download The Taaza Tv App Now to Stay Updated on the Latest News!